It depends on what services you have used to determine if you are eligible for a refund.    See below:

ADVANCECONNECT PREPAID CALLING ACCOUNT: If you do not want to use Securus services any longer, you can close your account from the Securus website or delete your online account on the Securus apps that will trigger a refund for prepaid calling funds if eligible.  Sign in, click the top right menu, select ‘My Settings’.  On the bottom navigation bar click ‘Security’.  Click ‘Delete Account’.  This will remove your access to Securus services.

This account will be closed, and you will no longer be able to use your prepaid services balance to pay for calls associated with the number(s) on this account. TextPay or AutoPay prepaid service options for AdvanceConnect will be immediately terminated. Calls received within the last 24 hours will be deducted from the balance. If a pre-paid services balance remains on your AdvanceConnect account, the refund will depend on the type of purchase method last used and will be handled as follows. If you paid:

  • ONLINE, USING A CREDIT CARD: The full-balance refund will be applied to the card last used and will be issued within 2-3 business days. This could take up to one billing cycle to be reflected on your credit or debit card statement.
    • VIA WESTERN UNION: Securus does not charge a fee to close your account, but any necessary Western Union handling fees will be applied to the balance when the refund is picked up. 
      • If there is a sufficient  balance to cover the last Western Union transfer in full, that value will be authorized for refund and can be picked up at a Western Union office within 10-12 business days. 
      • Any remaining prepaid services balance will be refunded by check and will be sent via the United States Postal Service to the account holder’s address on record.
      • If the balance is not sufficient to cover the Western Union transfer in full, the full balance refund will be issued by check and sent via the United States Postal Service to the account holder’s address on record.
    • VIA MONEYGRAM OR PAYMENTS BY MAIL: In 2-3 weeks, a refund check will be sent via the United States Postal Service to the account holder’s address on record.

VERIFY YOUR ADDRESS: Prior to deleting your account, please go to ‘My Settings’ on our website or app to verify your address is correct.   

DIRECT BILLThis account allows the account holder to pay for call services each month after services are used.Once a Direct Bill account holder has requested that his or her account be deleted, the request is held for 7 to 10 calendar days to allow for any unbilled calls, or other charges, to clear the account prior to closing. If there are any outstanding charges, the Direct Bill account holder will be issued a final bill statement and invoice due, as normal, within 20 days from the statement date.

SECURUS DEBIT: Any deposits that have been made into this account are owned by the incarcerated individual and are not refundable to you.

EMESSAGING: Any remaining stamps are not refundable.

VIDEOCONNECT:  Important – you should cancel any scheduled VideoConnect sessions before deleting the account. Upon deleting your account, any remaining VideoConnect subscriptions or scheduled sessions will be cancelled.  Deleting your account before a video session occurs will void that session and any future sessions without possibility of a refund.